Longlist Announced for the 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize

The longlist for the 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize has been announced. Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s picture book illustration. It honours Klaus Flugge, founder of publisher Andersen Press and an influential figure in picture books.

Previous Klaus Flugge Prize winners include Jessica Love in 2019 for Julian is a Mermaid, Francesca Sanna in 2017 for The Journey, Kate Milner for My Name is Not Refugee in 2018 and Eva Eland for When Sadness Comes to Call in 2020. Winning the Prize can give a great boost to a first book.

Flavia Z Drago was the 2021 winner with Gustavo the Shy Ghost, and returns this year as a judge alongside acclaimed illustrator Emily GravettMartin Salisbury, Professor of Illustration at Cambridge School of Art in Anglia Ruskin University; and Nikki Bi Co-Founder and the Beyond Books Lead at Civic Square in Birmingham. The panel will be chaired by Julia Eccleshare, director of the children’s programme of the Hay Festival.

For the second consecutive year, over fifty books were submitted and from 34 different publishing houses, proof of publishers’ commitment to commissioning and developing new illustrators. 24 have made it onto the longlist.

Julia Eccleshare says: “Providing their first experience of books and reading, picture books are vital to children’s development, opening up the world and providing all-important early encounters with art and story. It is always exhilarating therefore to consider the books submitted for the Klaus Flugge Prize and we are delighted to have received so many entries this year and to be celebrating these exciting, talented newcomers. The prize is international in scope, with illustrators from many different countries represented here, and publishers large, small and tiny. Our thanks as always to Klaus Flugge for his generous sponsorship and ongoing support for new picture book talent.”

The 2022 Klaus Flugge Prize longlist in full:

We Want Our Books, Jake Alexander, editor Helen Weir, designer Jo Spooner, (Two Hoots) Mammoth, Adam Beer, written by Anna Kemp, editor Helen Mackenzie Smith, art director Jane Buckley (Simon and Schuster)
Drawn Across Borders, George Butler, editors Alice Primmer & Denise Johnstone-Burt, art directors Nghiem Ta and Ben Norland (Walker Studio)

Kolobok: A Russian Bun on the Run, Dovilé Čiapaité, editor Mark Sutcliffe, designer Jacob Valvis (Fontanka)
Magnificent, Ria Dastidar, written by Laura Dockrill, editor Emily Ball, designer Lilly Gottwald (Pop Up Projects)

Rescuing Titanic, Flora Delargy, editor Lucy Brownridge, art director Karissa Santos (Wide Eyed Editions)
Sunflower Sisters, Michaela Dias-Hayes, written by Monika Singh Gangotra, art director/designer Sam Langley-Swain (Owlet Press)

Big Dance, Aoife Greenham, art director Sue Baker (Child’s Play)
Oh Monty!, Nici Gregory, editor Martha Owen, designer Sarah Crookes (Pavilion)
No! Said Rabbit, Marjoke Henrichs, editor Alice Corrie, designer Ness Wood (Scallywag Press)
Nature’s Toy Box, Harriet Hobday, editor Ali Halliday, art director Rachel Lawrence (Storyhouse Publishing)
Pierre’s New Hair, Joseph Hollis, editor Emilia Will, designer Jade Wheaton (Tate)
The Perfect Fit, James Jones, editor Jen Long, designer Kate Adams (Oxford University Press) The Beasts Beneath our Feet, Alisa Kosareva, written by James Carter, editor Isabel Otter, designer Alice Luffman (Little Tiger)
Ten Silly Children, Jon Lander, editor Neil Dunicliffe, designer Sarah Crookes (Pavilion)
If You Miss Me, Jocelyn Li Langrand, art director Patti Ann Harris, designer Doan Buu (Scholastic)
The Library Book, Ian Morris, written by Gabby Dawnay, editor Anna Ridley, art director Avni Patel, design director Johanna Neurath (Thames & Hudson)
The Song for Everyone, Lucy Morris, editor Pari Thomson, art director Donna Mark (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)
As Strong as the River, Sarah Noble, editor Emily Ball, designer Lilly Gottwald (Flying Eye Books)
The Tale of the Whale, Padmacandra, written by Karen Swann, editor Janice Thomson, designer Ness Wood (Scallywag Press)
Choices, Roozeboos, designer Sarah Dellow (Child’s Play)
Many Shapes of Clay, Kenesha Sneed, editor Holly La Due, designer Anjali Pala (Prestel) Alley Cat Rally, Ricky Trickartt, editor Emily Ball, designer Ivanna Khomyak (Flying Eye Books)

The Queen on Our Corner, Nia Tudor, written by Lucy Christopher, editor/art director Holly Tonks (Lantana)

The shortlist will be announced on 18 May 2022 and the winner will be revealed in September.

17th February 2022

World Illustration Awards 2023 – celebrating global illustration!
Be part of #WIA2023 - a global celebration of great illustration.
Issue 42 and Back issues available!
Contacts (across 3 sectors) for 350+ UK Commissioners... BUY NOW!
Get seen by commissioners with a 20 image Folio.


Join our mailing list to get the latest news.