Creators’ Rights Alliance joins the Creative Industries Council

The Creators’ Rights Alliance (CRA) has recently joined the Creative Industries Council (CIC), an important forum between the creative industries and government as part of a 2023 refresh of the Council. AOI is a Board member of the CRA.

Set up to be a voice for creative industries, the Council’s focus is addressing the challenges and opportunities facing the UK’s creative industries to help drive forward progress on key areas of growth for the sector, including access to finance, skills, export markets, innovation and intellectual property (IP).

The council is co-chaired by The Rt Hon Lucy Frazer KC MP, Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport (Government Co-Chair), Sir Peter Bazalgette, Chair of the Royal College of Art (Industry Co-Chair) and Francesca Hegyi, Edinburgh International Festival (Deputy Industry Co-Chair).

Membership is made up of leading figureheads drawn from across the creative and digital industries including TV, video games, fashion, music, arts, publishing, and film.
“We are thrilled that the CIC has taken on an organisation that speaks solely for creators and their interests – not just for industry. We are excited about the Sector Vision and are keen to work with our colleagues across government and industry to make the needs of creators, (often freelancers and SME’s) heard, including protection of their rights, a better tax regime, creative education and empowerment and protection of IP as well as lifelong access to skills and business training. We look forward to working together to create the conditions for a diverse sustainable and economically thriving creative industry.”
Nicola Solomon, CRA Chair

The Council’s membership is:
Julia Lopez MP – DCMS Minister of State
Alex Mahon – Channel 4
Alison Tickell – Julie’s Bicycle
Ben McOwen Wilson – Google Play
Ben Roberts – BFI
Caroline Norbury MBE – Creative UK
Caroline Rush CBE – British Fashion Council, and Chair of the Creative Industries Trade and Investment Board
Catryn Ramasut – Creative Wales
Chris Bird – Amazon Prime Video
Professor Christopher Smith – Arts and Humanities Research Council
Dan Conway – Publishers Association
Daniel Guthrie – Alliance for IP
Darren Henley CBE – Arts Council England
Hasan Bakhshi MBE – NESTA
Iain Munro – Creative Scotland
Indro Mukerjee – Innovate UK
Jamie Njoku Goodwin – UK Music
Jay Hunt – Apple
Dr Jeremy Silver – Digital Catapult
Dr Jo Twist OBE – UKIE
John McVay OBE – PACT
Kanya King CBE – MOBO
Lee Brooks – Production Park
Minnie Moll – Design Council
Muyiwa Oki – RIBA
Neil Hatton – UK Screen Alliance
Nicola Solomon – Creators’ Rights Alliance
Perminder Mann – Bonnier Books
Rehana Mughal – British Council
Roisín McDonough – Arts Council Northern Ireland
Stephen Page – Faber and Faber
Stephen Woodford – Advertising Association
Professor Steven Spier – Kingston University
Tom Fussell – BBC Studios

22nd February 2023

World Illustration Awards 2023 – Thanks for Entering!
Be part of #WIA2023 - a global celebration of great illustration. Call for Entries Now Closed - Thanks For Entering!
Issue 42 and Back issues available!
Contacts (across 3 sectors) for 350+ UK Commissioners... BUY NOW!
Get seen by commissioners with a 20 image Folio.


Join our mailing list to get the latest news.