Klaus Flugge Prize event

Wednesday 17 May

The Auditorium at Foyles, Level 6, 107 Charing Cross Road. 6.30pm – 8.00pm.

Tickets cost £8 (or £5 for Foyalty members and students). A glass of wine is included in the cost of the ticket.

The shortlist for the 2017 Klaus Flugge Prize is to be announced live at a special event at Foyles Charing Cross Road on the evening of Wednesday 17 May. Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s book illustration. It honours publisher Klaus Flugge, founder of children’s publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books.

The Shortlist

The Shortlist

As well as the announcement of the shortlist, the Foyles special event will celebrate the art of the picture book: Professor Martin Salisbury, Course Leader in the MA in Children’s Book Illustration at the Cambridge School of Art, and distinguished illustrators Michael Foreman, Emily Gravett and Mini Grey will discuss what makes great picture book illustration, and how illustrators today use pictures to move, entertain and influence their audience.

The 2017 Klaus Flugge Prize shortlist will be announced by last year’s winner Nicholas John Frith, 2017 judge Tamara Macfarlane and chair of the judges Julia Eccleshare. Julia Eccleshare says, ‘The Klaus Flugge Prize is all about celebrating picture book illustration and putting exciting new talent in the spotlight. We are delighted to be announcing the shortlist live at this very special Foyles event and to have such a stellar panel of speakers. This will be an unmissable event for all those interested in children’s picture book illustration.’

All of the longlisted illustrators and their editors have been invited to attend.

There are fifteen books on the Klaus Flugge Prize longlist. They are:

The Lonely Giant, Sophie Ambrose (Walker Books), edited by Lizzie Sitton (Walker)

Hannah and Sugar, Kate Berube, edited by Tamar Brazis (Abrams & Chronicle), edited by Tamar Brazis (Abrams)

Baxter’s Book, Hrefna Bragadottir, edited by Louise Bolongaro (Nosy Crow), edited by Louise Bolongaro (Nosy Crow)

World of Information, James Brown, written by Richard Platt, edited by Denise Johnston-Burt (Walker Books)

Animal Surprises, Abbie Cameron, written and edited by Nicola Davies (Graffeg)

Bob the Artist, Marion Deuchars, edited by Elizabeth Jenner (Laurence King Publishing)

The Museum of Me, Emma Lewis, edited by Alice Chasey, (Tate)

Life is Magic, Meg McLaren, edited Libby Hamilton (Andersen Press)

First Snow, Bomi Park, edited by Victoria Rock (Chronicle Book)

Little Mouse’s Big Breakfast, Christine Pym, edited by Louise Bolongaro (Nosy Crow)

Duck Gets a Job, Sonny Ross edited by Alison Ritchie (King’s Road Publishing)

The Journey, Francesca Sanna, edited by Harriet Birkenshaw, (Flying Eye)

Little One, Jo Weaver, edited by Emma Layfield (Hodder Children’s Books)

Hiding Heidi, Fiona Woodcock, edited by Lara Hancock, (Simon and Schuster)

Little Red, Bethan Woollvin, edited by Suzanne Carnell (Two Hoots)

4th May 2017

World Illustration Awards 2023 – celebrating global illustration!
Be part of #WIA2023 - a global celebration of great illustration.
Issue 42 and Back issues available!
Contacts (across 3 sectors) for 350+ UK Commissioners... BUY NOW!
Get seen by commissioners with a 20 image Folio.


Join our mailing list to get the latest news.