National Insurance

There are currently four types of National Insurance, Class 1 (for the employed), Class 2 and Class 4 (for the self-employed), and Class 3 (for those who pay voluntary contributions). Class 2 is due to be abolished from 6th April 2018.

This document explains each Class and what National Insurance is for.

This resource has been prepared by Nick Weeden, Chartered Accountant.  All members are entitled to an hour’s free consultation with Nick.  To book yourself in, email the AOI.


AOI Directories Listing contacts for 250+ UK Commissioners across three sectors. Buy now!
AOI members! Book your 1-1 Portfolio Consultation today!
Guide to Law & Business book
"An essential guide for all practicing illustrators" Purchase today!
Get seen by commissioners with a 20 image Folio.


Join our mailing list to get the latest news.